The 2013 federal minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour for non-tipped employees, and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees. However, 7 states have announced that their minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2013. Moreover, one state has proposed an increase. Additionally, 2013 minimum wage determinations have not yet been announced by two states whose minimum wage is adjusted each January 1.Continue Reading...
On January 27, 2012, the United States District Court for the District of Arizona granted AutoZone’s motion for summary judgment in a case brought on behalf of a nationwide class of current and former store managers seeking overtime pay under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). In so ruling, the court rejected the store managers’ argument that they were not bona fide executive employees under the FLSA.
The store managers contended they spent as much as 90% of their time working on manual (i.e., non-managerial) tasks that required rote compliance with AutoZone’s detailed, standardized policies and procedures. Therefore, the store managers contended, they were not exempt executive employees.Continue Reading...
Although the 2012 federal minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour, six states have announced that their minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2012. Additionally, one state has proposed an increase, and another will announce its 2012 minimum wage either this month or in December. One state, however, announced that its minimum wage will not change in 2012.Continue Reading...
Effective on July 20, 2011, employers in Arizona can mandate electronic payment of wages. Employees that do not elect direct deposit may be paid by payroll debit card, which now can be treated as the default option.
HR 2151 amends Ariz. Stat. sections 23-350 and 23-351 by allowing employers to choose one of four methods of payment of wages: (1) cash; (2) check; (3) if elected by the employee, direct deposit into a financial institution of the employee’s choice; or (4) if an employee does not designate a financial institution for direct deposit, by payroll debit card.
If an employer chooses to pay wages by payroll debit card, the employee must be entitled to withdraw his or her full wages without fee at least one time per pay period, but not more than once per week. The employer must also provide the employee with a list of all potential fees an employee may incur. Also, if the employee is paid by direct deposit or payroll debit card, the employer must furnish the employee with a written or electronic statement of the employee’s earnings and withholdings.
Payroll cards can be a win-win option for both employers and employees. Employers are given greater flexibility in methods of paying wages at reduced cost, and with greater security than cash or traditional checks. Employees no longer have to incur check cashing fees, and also have protection against lost cash. While it is not clear that Arizona’s bill represents any kind of trend by the states toward mandating electronic payment of wages, Arizona’s law should definitely be welcome by Arizona employers.
Photo credit: MBPHOTO, INC.
On January 1, 2011, six states (listed below) will increase their minimum wage requirement. Two states—along with American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands— elected to keep their current rate. Colorado is considering an increase to the minimum wage which, if passed, will also take effect on January 1, 2011. The federal minimum wage rate remains unchanged at $7.25/hr.Continue Reading...
The federal minimum wage remains unchanged at $7.25/hr. However, various states will either increase or decrease their state minimum wages come January 1, 2010, whereas other states have elected not to change their current rate.
States that are increasing their minimum wage
$7.75/hr. Effective January 1, 2010 the minimum wage must be at least fifty cents more than the federal minimum wage. Alaska Statutes, §23.10.065.
$8.25/hr. Effective January 1, 2010, the Connecticut minimum wage will increase from $8.00/hr to $8.25/hr. General Statutes of Connecticut, §31-58.
$7.25. Effective January 1, 2010, Kansas’s minimum wage increases from $2.65/hr to $7.25/hr. Kansas General Statutes § 44-1203.
On January 21, 2009, the City of Phoenix obtained summary judgment in a collective action brought by approximately 600 police officers claiming millions in unpaid work. What were the officers claiming? That the City should have compensated them for time spent putting on and taking off police uniforms and gear. In the matter of Dager et al. v. City of Phoenix, Case No. 2:06-cv-01412-PHX-JWS, the U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona ruled that the City did not have an obligation to pay its police officers for the time spent donning and doffing (i.e., putting on and taking off ) their police uniforms and gear. Specifically, Judge John Sedwick held that under Ninth Circuit precedent and the persuasive guidelines of the U.S. Department of Labor, only those employees actually required to change at work could claim that the time spent donning and doffing was compensable. The evidence in the case showed that the City allowed officers to change at home or at the station, depending on their own preference, and that a significant number of officers, including some of the claimants, regularly changed into their uniforms and/or gear at home. The court also held that, although the City's police department required officers to wear certain specified uniforms and protective gear, the uniform itself was not 'necessary" to the performance of police work (as the term necessary is defined under applicable regulations and case law).Continue Reading...
The start of a new year often brings with it changes in governing wage and hour legislation. Effective January 1, 2009, eleven states will increase the minimum wage for employers subject to state wage and hour laws. In addition to noting the wage increase, employers should ensure that they are properly displaying a copy of the state’s current minimum wage poster in a conspicuous location in the workplace that notes the wage increase, even if the increase will not affect hourly employees at any particular workplace. The following states have increased their state minimum wage, effective January 1, 2009:Continue Reading...